On Writing · Writing

Writer’s Block: The Hobgoblin of Literary Minds

Anyone who has ever made the decision to set pen to paper – or, more likely, fingers to keyboard – has experienced the struggle of being unable to effectively and continuously produce their work. Writer’s block is the bugbear not only of seasoned litterateurs but of students writing essays, managers compiling quarterly reports, and writers of all ranks and trades.

I am suffering from it now after a calamitous few weeks. I, like so many others, turned to writing at a time when I couldn’t think about anything else. It gave me something concrete, a firm target for a flash flood of volatile emotions which would otherwise have flown in all directions.

For a time it seemed to be working, until I sat down to write today and… nothing. The character I’d spent weeks moulding was a ghost and the plot was riddled with creative termites. I was no longer convinced by my own story, I had stopped caring. And it hurts because I know there’s something knocking about behind my eyes but it just won’t be wrestled onto the page.

But to fellow sufferers I say; don’t despair. If the block is there, clear it by leaving the writing alone. Read, regularly and fervently. That seems to help considerably.

2 thoughts on “Writer’s Block: The Hobgoblin of Literary Minds

  1. Thank you for the great article. I usually feel like crap if I feel writer’s block. When I have writer’s block, I usually know exactly what I need to write next, so it’s no problem with planning. Like you said though, it’s much better to leave that particular writing alone and read. Thanks again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

